University of Iowa

Zoom Meeting Privacy Options

The following information provides suggested settings for creating a private Zoom session and steps you can take to reduce the possibility of unwelcome guests joining your meeting or webinar.

In this article:

  • Meeting Passwords
  • Disable “Join Before Host”
  • Meeting Security When Scheduling Via Outlook
  • Removing Zoom Meeting Participants
  • Lock Your Session

Meeting Passwords

Requiring a password to access a Zoom session is a straightforward way to increase the security of your meeting. You can send your chosen password to your attendees via email or chat, but be sure to remind them not to share the password with others. 
 
While scheduling a meeting, under Meeting Options, check Require Meeting Password, and then specify a strong password. Participants will be asked for this password in order to join your meeting.

Meeting Security When Scheduling Via Outlook

If you add or create a Zoom meeting using Outlook, note that the calendar entry may include the meeting password. If your calendar is viewable by others, we recommend making the meeting entry private or editing the details to remove the password.
 
While your calendar entry is open in Outlook, click Private on the Meeting or Appointment tab so that others cannot view your meeting details. 

Disable "Join Before Host"

The join before host option can be convenient for allowing attendees to carry on with a meeting the host is not able to start. However, with this option enabled, the first attendee who joins the meeting will be made the host automatically with full control over the meeting. If you are scheduling a meeting where sensitive information will be discussed, we recommend leaving this option disabled.
 
While scheduling a meeting, under Meeting Options, select that the 'Join before host' toggle is turned OFF. See Zoom's Join Before Host help page for more information.

Removing Zoom Meeting Participants

If you have already begun a session and find an unwanted attendee has joined:
 
Click Manage Participants at the bottom of the Zoom window. In the Participants panel, click More next to the person you want to remove. From the list that appears, click Remove. The participant is no longer in the Zoom session.
 

Lock Your Session

You may choose to lock your meeting session once all your attendees have joined using the Zoom Host Controls. When a meeting is locked, no one can join, and the host will NOT be alerted if anyone tries to join. 
 
Click Manage Participants at the bottom of the Zoom window. Click More at the bottom of the Participants panel. From the list that appears, click Lock Meeting.